Music

Mixed Tape Monday 1.18.16

I’m converting Friday’s “A La Carte” to “Mixed Tape Monday” from here on out.  Mixed Tape Monday is when I’ll share a random mix of things:  home stuff, child-rearing stuff, wife stuff, something helpful/funny/interesting I read, new music or artists, etc.

Here’s my Mixed Tape for this week:

  • We’ve been spending time with family in Canada this past week and got to hear a new-to-us band on CBC radio.  Seth and I enjoyed this song by Cardboard Crowns, a ska/punk band that hails from Ottawa.
  • My father-in-law recently introduced me to a new way to brew a Mexican coffee drink called Olla.  Heat 5 cups of water to boiling and steep in it: 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 1/4 cup of finely ground coffee, 1 cinnamon stick, and 3 whole cloves.  Then strain out the sediment and the result is a warm and sweet caffeinated beverage.
  • I recently enjoyed reading through The Biggest Story with Dryden, my four-year-old. It is sort of a condensed, and just as colorful, version of The Jesus Storybook Bible.6151-fyMx5L._SX387_BO1,204,203,200_
Leave a Reply

