Lyrics · Music

Adelaide’s Medley

Just like I had for Dryden, I decided I wanted to have a medley of a couple songs for Adelaide, my now almost four-month-old.  I usually sang Dryden’s songs to him as part of his bedtime routine but I’d also sing it for some naps or bath times.  Adelaide’s songs have become a regular part of her routine as well.

The first song in the medley is Seek Ye First by Karen Lafferty and is based on Matthew 6:33.  I don’t really have a title for the second song, the one I wrote, though Dryden calls it “Where Neither Moth Nor Rust Destroys” so I’ll go with that.

I actually wrote this short song before Adelaide was born, when Dryden and I were driving to a Bible study I was attending and the kids in childcare at the study were memorizing Matthew 6:20.  I wanted to put the words to music to help Dryden learn it and possibly to help the other kids learn it too.  It goes like this:

But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven where neither moth nor rust destroys x2

And where thieves do not break in a steal x2

But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven where neither moth nor rust destroys

©Bethany Heijermans

 

Leave a Reply

