Homemaking

What is a Homemaker Anyway?

It took me a couple months of thinking over it to be sure about the title I picked for this blog.  I wanted it to fit who I am at this stage and even how I want to see myself grow.  But what is a homemaker anyway?  This is something I had never taken the time to define.  I usually just check it off in the occupation box and move on.

The majority of the definitions I found said its “one who manages a household.”

What does it mean to manage a household?  Well for me, this is what it looks like on a week-to-week basis:

  • Make meals.
  • Take care of my two kids (ages 3 months and 4 years old).
  • Do things that are helpful to my husband, Seth (like wash the white socks he likes to wear for work).
  • Clean and maintain order in our home.
  • Be responsible with our money (I recently asked Seth to take over the budget and I’m really enjoying having the break so far–but I still have to be a wise spender/saver).

I also try to keep in mind a biblical worldview of these things.  Titus 2:3-5 talks about being busy at home and that could look different for everyone but for me, I have to watch myself that I’m not so busy OUTSIDE of our home that I neglect the above things.

I’ll likely write about the way I do the above things but that’s not to say that there are other ways to do it.  Homemaking for you could look different.  A single person, a single mom, or a military wife would most likely have different approaches to the above things. As I continue to write, I look forward to hearing from others about things that work for them as a homemaker.

So here’s a question:  what one thing has been the most helpful to you in managing your own household?

Leave a Reply

